Rehearsal Dinner

Our wedding week started on Wednesday the 26th, when Scott’s family came into town.  It was very exciting because it was the first time they have visited us in Seattle.  They made it into town right on time and without any travel snafus.  We went out to lunch, stopped by the mall so they could grab some souvenirs, and then hung out at our house.

tux

Scott and Chris at the final tux fitting

The next day was rehearsal day.  Most of Scott’s groomsmen got into town Thursday morning and we were trying to coordinate everything to make sure they went and got their tuxes.  I felt like I was running around like a crazy woman.  I was trying to make sure I had last minute details finished, get my nails done, get down to rehearsal, etc.

After only a little bit of chaos, everyone made it to rehearsal and we actually breezed through it quickly.  I had a final meeting with my day-of coordinator, Lindsay, and went over every last detail.  After rehearsal, I finally felt like I could relax and not worry about anything.  It was an awesome feeling.

The rehearsal dinner was at my brother Jason’s house.  We wanted to do something casual, so we decided to have Dante’s Inferno Dogs cater the dinner.  They show up with their hot dog stand and all kinds of different hot dogs and toppings.  I didn’t realize the cart was so big and when the guy got there, we realized he couldn’t fit it in the back yard.  He ended up setting up in the garage, and it worked fine.

dana

Dana, from Dante’s Inferno Dogs

Okay, this Dana guy was cracking me up because every time someone came up to order a hot dog, he had this very informative pitch about the hot dogs and the toppings.  I’ve never heard anyone who knows more about hot dogs than Dana!

Weirdly, it was 90 degress outside (tying a record for the highest temperature for that day in Seattle.)  Jason had a bunch of chairs set up in the backyard, but since it was cooler in the front, everyone was congregating there with their hot dogs.

driveway

The party turned out great.  It was very casual and relaxed, which is exactly what we wanted.  Scott and I handed out our attendant gifts.  I got my girls little crystal pendant necklaces with their first initial.  Scott got his guys personalized pocket knives, and we got Reece a personalized set of cufflinks.

maids

mom dad

memaw

I was a bit sad at the end of the night because I realized I did not get to have a piece of Jason’s fabulous chocolate cake!  He makes the MOST amazing cake.  Oh well.  Overall, it was a wonderful party and I think everyone had fun.  Thanks for hosting, Jase!

Leave a Reply

