We’ve survived

Last week was supposed to be my first week of work, but things could not have stacked up worse!  Sunday night, we got snow, so Monday got off to a late start, Tuesday as well.  Then the BIG storm hit on Wednesday, keeping me from work the rest of the week.  This was all combined with my sinus infection taking a turn for the worst (after posting that I thought Decker and I were getting better.)  Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I was this sick.  I was so congested that it made talking, eating and swallowing really challenging.  On top of this, Decker’s cough, which improved, started coming back with a vengeance.

By Thursday, I was feeling really horrible and then we lost power from 8:30 am until about 9:30 pm.  I had finally decided Wednesday evening that I HAD to go see a doctor.  Of course, the one time I need a doctor is during a major snow and ice storm, so all the walk in clinics were closed.  I ended up going to the emergency room on Thursday and got some antibiotics and we headed up to Jason and Nathan’s for the evening since we were still without power.  Thursday night, I heard Decker coughing all night long.  I hate that sound!  I was able to get him into the doctor Friday morning and found out he had an ear infection and that he was still wheezing a bit.  She prescribed antibiotics and told us to continue the breathing treatments.

By Monday morning, I was finally feeling somewhat normal.  This week has gone pretty well.  The first few days I dropped Decker off at his new daycare, he cried, but just for a few minutes when I left.  Well, this morning, he was crying as we walked to his room, but once he sat down and had his breakfast in front of him, he stopped and I was able to kiss him goodbye and just walked right out while he stared at me.  No tears!  He’s been having so much fun at school and this afternoon, when Scott got there to pick him up, Decker walked directly to his cubby to grab his coat and blankey so they could head home (he now knows the routine.)

We’re still getting used to the new schedule, but it’s been going pretty smoothly this week.  Decker is able to sleep until he wakes by himself, around 6:15.  I drop him off around 7:30 and Scott picks him up at 4.  I’ve been able to be home between 5:15 and 6 (depending on traffic.)  We play and then I get him ready for bed and put him down around 7.  He has also been napping like a champ at daycare, taking a 2.5 hour nap the other day and another 2 hour one today!  Work has been going well…there’s a lot to learn, but I like the people I work with and the days have been flying by, which is great.

Decker seems to finally be healthy.  He still has a slight cough and is still taking his antibiotics, but doesn’t seem to have any major issues anymore.  We are taking him back to the doctor this Saturday, just to make sure his ear infection has cleared up.  With all the craziness, I have fallen behind on my pictures, but here is a video Scott took last night showing how good Decker is getting with his spoon.

4 thoughts on “We’ve survived

  1. I’m so glad to hear you are both on the mend and life is returning to ‘normal’. I truly hope you all continue uphill and I’m rooting for you! Hope you continue to enjoy work and that Decker continues to grow into daycare 🙂

    Like

  2. So glad you are both feeling better! Sounds like things are working out really well. What a good boy Decker is! And thanks for your comment on my blog 🙂 parenting is quite the transformative experience, isn’t it!? Hugs girl xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment