This too, shall pass…

This is what I texted to Scott yesterday morning as I left for work.  The last week has reminded me how challenging and tiring parenthood can be.

Since last Wednesday, Decker has been extremely fussy.  He was running a low grade fever for a couple of days, so we attributed his fussiness to teething, as he was getting some molars in.

Friday afternoon I went to pick him up from daycare early to attend the Mother’s Day Party.  As we were getting ready to leave, he turned into a little terror and insisted that I carry him, even though my hands were full of his blankets, coat and my purse.  He decided I would get the point if he laid down on the ground, right in front of his classroom door and started screaming/crying.  Of course I did what any embarrassed rational parent would do in that instance and picked him up, holding all 26 pounds of him in one arm.  By the time I got out to the car, my arm was throbbing!

We spent the rest of the weekend at my parent’s in Eastern Washington and while Decker did okay, he was still fussy a lot of the time and had some major meltdowns, which is very uncharacteristic of him.  By this point, Scott and I started thinking he’s hit the terrible twos and is just going to throw a fit whenever he doesn’t get his way.

Sunday night we realized he wasn’t really using his left arm and started crying like he was in pain when we touched it.  We examined his arm and it seemed okay, so we decided to keep an eye on it.  It really must have been hurting him while he tried to sleep because he woke up three times and at 3am just didn’t want to go back to sleep.  Scott and I were both up with him and ended up giving him a little early morning snack.  I thought maybe he would sleep in, but was awake crying at 6am.

Luckily, Scott was able to stay home with him yesterday.  When I woke up, I spent a few minutes with him before I had to get ready for work and when I walked away, he cried hysterically.  😦  Scott took him to the doctor and they took x-rays and there was no sign of a fracture.  The doctor also maneuvered his arm to fix his elbow in case the ligament had slipped out of place, which apparently was very traumatic (glad I wasn’t there for that!)

By last night, Scott and I were both exhausted and confused.  We’re not sure whether he really has been teething or whether something has been wrong with his arm for awhile now or if he really has hit the terrible twos and is just going to throw a tantrum when he doesn’t get his way (I hope not!).  The further along I get in motherhood, the more familiar I get with tiredness, confusion and worry.  Knowing that your child is in pain has to be the worst feeling for a parent.

The good news is by last night, he seemed to be a bit more back to his happy self, even though he still wasn’t really using his left arm. He had a pretty good night, only waking up a couple of times, but going right back to sleep.  (I think maybe when he moves in his sleep, he hurts his arm?)  This morning he was pretty happy, although he still is not really using the arm.  Scott dropped him off at daycare, which meant that I got to sleep in until 7am and wow, it is amazing how much difference a good night’s sleep can make!

I am so grateful that I have Scott and that we work so well as a team.  I could not imagine dealing with situations like this on my own!  Knowing that our little guy is feeling better makes dealing with the extreme bouts of fussiness and lack of sleep worth it.

6 thoughts on “This too, shall pass…

  1. Oh, poor little guy. It truly is frustrating when they can’t really speak to let you know what exactly is bothering them. I hope he’s doing better and that you all can get some much needed rest.

    Like

  2. Aw, poor little thing. 😦 You and Scott are such amazing parents and a great team. Decker is lucky to have you guys. Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

