january 2013 / letters to my son

I am very excited to be part of a group of wonderful mothers and photographers who will be blogging a letter each month to our daughters and sons.  Without further ado, here is the first installment of Letters to My Son.

My Dearest D,

I wasn’t really sure what to write in this first letter to you, as there are a million things I could tell you.  I thought I would take the time to highlight one of your special qualities that I hope you keep as you grow up.  I know all mothers say this, but you really are one of the sweetest little boys on the planet.

You absolutely love to give hugs to everybody, including your daycare classmates and complete strangers, such as furniture deliverymen.  🙂  You have an unwavering fear of strangers, which makes me very happy because it shows me that you have never encountered a person who has given you any reason to be afraid.  I pray that it will stay this way your entire life.

Nowhere was this more evident then this past Christmas Eve when Santa made a surprise visit.  While most two-year-olds would run away screaming, you immediately ran up to him, gave him a big hug and sat on his lap in amazement.  While these pictures are nothing more than snapshots, they are the reason that I took up photography in the first place…to capture all these little moments that I never want to forget.

When I look at these, I will forever remember your innocence and your sweetness.  And your father and I will do everything in our power to preserve these amazing qualities in you.

My Love Always,

Mom

20121224-1779 20121224-1780 20121224-1781 20121224-1782

Please continue through this blog circle to read more letters from some other amazing mother photographers, beginning with Carrie Yuan.  Then be sure to check out the rest of this wonderful blog circle.

Dana Lauder  |  Danielle Mazur  |  Heather Nordell  |  Allie Shellaway  |  Davina Gruenstein  |  Aimee  |  Kelly Smith  |  Genny Fonda  |  Kristy Dooley  |  Bobbi-Jo  |  Jessica Thomason  |  Alisha Brown

