september 2013 / letters to my son

I can’t believe it’s been four months since I last took part in this project…yikes! Here is this month’s installment of my Letters To My Son project, which I am undertaking along with a fabulous group of mother photographers.  Each month, we blog a letter to our sons or daughters (with pictures included, of course) and then link up in a blog circle.  

Dearest D,

I know it’s been awhile since I last wrote one of these letters, but things have been busy the last few months! You are growing so fast. One thing that has emerged in the last few months is your understanding of fear. You’ve recently shown us you are afraid of swimming, loud parrots, and even Sir Topham Hat. (Dad took you to go see Thomas in person and you refused to get a picture with Sir Topham.)

Your fear was also apparent recently when Dad found a little frog outside. When he let it out to free it, you were terrified, but with a little coaxing, you warmed up and ended up petting and holding the frog.

I know fear is a normal part of growing up, but I’m glad your dad and I can be there to give you reassurance and make you feel safe. We will always be here for that!

Love Always,

Mama

2013-09-13_0001

20130516-4119

20130516-4128

20130516-4138

Now, please visit Carrie’s blog to enjoy her letter and beautiful images.

5 thoughts on “september 2013 / letters to my son

  1. So glad you jumped back in this month, Ashley! You captured this time in your little guy’s world so perfectly! I love the progression to being able to hold the frog. Great captures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

